Paving a New Road’s Weblog
Just another WordPress.com weblog

This is where I’m going….

With the exception of a few pity parties in my life, for the most part, I’m a very upbeat, cheerful person. When I think of my goals, or even my values, they don’t include big fancy things. They include people, spending time with them, caring for them, letting them know I appreciate them, things like that.

I’ve been on the rocky road of life. I’m a drop out from the school of hard knocks. I’ve trusted the wrong people, both men and women. I’ve made bad decisions, some that turned out to be blessings in disguise. I’m a pleaser who gave more of myself than I should have and had no idea what boundaries were. My health took the brunt of the chaos that came into my life. I moved into a convent a few years ago….. but through it all I never lost my sense of humor.

I was going to write about “where I’ve really been” but thats seems so much like dwelling on the past, and I can’t do anything to change it. I’d much rather focus on the future.

I started my 101 things to do in a lifetime a few years ago, maybe when the book 1001 Places to See Before You Die came out, which is why I have so many marked as done.

This is where I’m going….
1. Go to a Professional Hockey Game
2. See Cirque Du Soleil
3. Go to a Nascar Race
4. Go Whale Watching
5. Visit Crater Lake, Oregon
6. Hike Mt Ranier
7. Tour the Grand Canyon
8. Go to Glacier National Park
9. See Mt Rushmore
10. See the Fall Colors in New England
11. Attend a concert at Grand Ole Opry
12. Stand in 4 Corners
13. Experience Central Park at Christmas Time
14. See a musical on Broadway
15. See all 50 States
16. Explore Washington DC
17. Go to Bermuda
18. See the Eiffel Tower
19. Go to Scotland
20. Spend New Years Eve in another Country
21. Start each day with an intention
22. Live my life with purpose
23. Live my life with a sense of gratitude, end each day with 3 things I’m grateful for
24. Don’t let the past hold me in fear
25. Learn to mediate and do it consistantly
26. Find a balance between the things I want to do and the things I need to do
27. Remember to always say thank you!
28. Let those I love and care about know how much they matter to me
29. Live the 4 Agreements – Tell the Truth, Don’t Assume, Don’t take it Personally, Do Your Best
30. Live my life with patience and compassion
31. Stay true to myself, always
32. Learn to cook healthy and do it
33. Exercise regularly
34. Be a size 8 again…
35. Run a 5k
36. Learn to dance
37. Learn to take professional quality photographs
38. Get all the family pictures and negatives scanned and online
39. Get and learn Photoshop
40. Include myself in pictures, so that I appear in the future too
41. Do a photo a day challenge
42. Attend workshops, as often as possible. Not for work, for me!
43. Take photographs for charity
44. Organize and decorate my bedroom so it is a relaxing place to be
45. Join a writers group
46. Write “the” book
47. Write a childrens book
48. Get caught up on the quilts
49. Sew a quilt entirely by hand
50. Make a photo quilt
51. Get caught up on the scrapbooks
52. Learn to throw a great dinner party
53. Learn about wine, it’s good for my heart after all
54. Watch my daughter graduate High School
55. Watch my daughter graduate College
56. Experience and help as much as she wants me to, my daughter get married
57. Learn to trust (myself) again, and trust wisely
58. Say “I do” for the last time
59. Have a great group of friends, be open to new friends
60. Make out a will
61. Focus on savings and investing for retirement
62. Buy a home
63. Live an organized life
64. Eliminate clutter in my life: Clean my home of the things I don’t love, only buy things I do
65. Prepare an emergancy kit for home
66. Prepare an emergancy kit for car
67. Live more “green”
68. Be a motivational speaker
69. Volunteer for a charity on a regular basis
70. Find my own clothing style and wear only clothes and accessories I love
71. Turn 50 fabulously!
72. Tour Hearst Castle – done
73. Fly 1st Class – done
74. Attend an NFL Game – done
75. Attend a baseball game at Wrigley – done
76. Go to Ireland – done
77. Go to England – done
78. Win something on the radio – done
79. Attend an Olympic Event – done
80. See Yellowstone – done
81. Swim with the Dolphins – done
82. Ride an Elephant, maybe even a camel but we’re not counting it – done
83. Go to the top of the Space Needle – done
84. Kiss under the Golden Gate Bridge – done
85. Traveled Internationally alone – done
86. Ice Skate on a frozen lake – done
87. Ride a cable car in San Francisco – done
88. Go Horseback riding on the Beach – done
89. Go to the San Juan Islands – done
90. Go on a real vacation with my daughter – done
91. Sleep under the stars – done
92. See the sights of Yosemite – done
93. See the Northeren Lights – done
94. Go Horsebackriding on the Beach – done
95. Grow an amazing garden – done
96. Take a professional photography Class – done
97. Have something published – done
98. Become a Mom – done
99. Serve on a Jury – done
100. See a shooting star – done
101. Have the perfect first date – done

No Responses to “This is where I’m going….”

Leave a Reply

