Paving a New Road’s Weblog
Just another WordPress.com weblog

Happy Scale

As I spent another Friday night at home I thought about who I’d like to share this lfe with. Friends are great, family is comforting…. I don’t miss having a man in my life. I’d like to have the right, special man in my life. It’s a great feeling to know that I don’t need someone, if I meet someone I’d like to explore things with, it’s because the want is there.

I’m not looking for someone to take care of me. Would I like to be taken care of? Sure, but I have no idea how that would be done, it’s never happened before……. it might take me some time…. and practice….. to get the hang of it.

I think it would be easier to say what I’m not looking for – the bad boy biker dude… the know it all, that lets you know he knows it all….. but who would I like to cross paths with? kind, caring, adventursome, responsible, loving…… beyond that?

I can’t tell you if he has green eyes or brown hair, that does not matter to me. It’s whats inside that matters. Does he respect himself (funny to ask for that in someone else, when I’m still working on respecting myself), does he respect me, does he have compassion for the person next to him? Will he hold my hand? Is his heart open, can we merge our lives or is he looking for someone to fit neatly into his? It’s got to work both ways…. a little give…a little take…a lot of sharing…. and maybe not so many alone Friday nights.

Being alone and lonely are very different. When I was married, I was lonely. Now I’m just alone….. and much happier!!

I have a feeling the happy scale goes even higher… and I’d like to find out that too….!!!

No Responses to “Happy Scale”

Leave a Reply

