Paving a New Road’s Weblog
Just another WordPress.com weblog

Christmas Spirit

I just can’t seem to find it this year. I’m not down on Christmas…. it’s just a chore this year. All the things I’ve always enjoyed are not fun. Getting the tree up, figuring out what to get everyone… making decorations, doing nice things just for the fun of it…. it’s not in me this year. I know why…. and knowing only makes it worse. Some of the reasons are:

  • knowing my daughter will not be home for most of the holidays
  • knowing I won’t be able to see my family for the holidays
  • missing family who’ve passed on…. it’s worse this year
  • not having money to do the things since I’m paying child support while my child lives with me….
  • no creative juices flowing….. 

I feel like I’m having a pity party for myself…. and I don’t like it. It makes me feel even worse.  There are things I plan to do to get me out this funk….

  • work out… eat healthier…. (this pops up a lot for me… good, maybe it’ll sink in)
  • spend time with friends
  • do creative things, simply
  • work on getting organized so things aren’t so chaotic

If anyone has any suggestions they can share… please do…. !!

2 Responses to “Christmas Spirit”

  1. Sounds like you have a good attitude. better than me! I just have the whole commercialization of Christmas. I alos hate shopping so finding gifts is a painful chore. But, I gotta do it so I am.

  2. You are taking the most important steps – knowing you need to do something. We are seeing a lot of our friends, going to see the lights, watching shows, stuff like that. It’s fun.


Leave a Reply

