Paving a New Road’s Weblog
Just another WordPress.com weblog

Sunday Scribbles – Holiday Memories

Holiday Memories – thank you Sunday Scribbles for letting me reminisce! 
 
My favorite holidays were when I was little. We always did the “over the river and through the woods to grandma’s house” thing. Even though it was really on the freeway and over the river, with no snow, it was just as fun!! My grandparents lived a couple hours from us so we would arrive at least by Christmas Eve, sometimes earlier and stay at least through the day after Christmas. 
 
My mom would bring the presents from her and my dad, and the ones that had been sent from other relatives to my grandparents home. Christmas Eve aunts, uncles, cousins, and friends would all gather for present opening. It was pretty much a free for all, and always fun! After everything was done, my aunt would magically find one more for me, that was always delivered with a hug.
 
Christmas morning somehow Santa knew where to find us. My mom and aunt said they called the North Pole to let Santa know where we were. Christmas morning had to be early since we also had to go to Church, and that was before any eating could be done. Church was always a special time with my grandparents. Their parish had lots of older people. I’d sit in the pews next to them looking for the ladies with the bluest, the whitest, the curliest…. hair. And the men with most, the least, the whitest…. hair. I haven’t a clue what the Priest said. But I was still and occupied.
 
Once we got home breakfast was made, not a big one since the snacks would be coming out soon. Dinner was usually about 2pm with a table for the adults and another one for the kids. Different adults would sometimes sit with us at the kids table or send us to the adult table just. It became a joke to see who could sit where, and who would not remember it the next year.
 
Often after dinner we’d watch old home movies, make puzzles, play games, go for walks, go to the park…. take a nap. It was a wonderful time of my life, with people who were big influences on my life and the people who taught me about love.

 

9 Responses to “Sunday Scribbles – Holiday Memories”

  1. thanks for sharing…what a nice read!

  2. this was an especially heart felt post.. thank you for sharing it with us….

  3. What a wonderful memory –

  4. i never really learned to appreciate the “kids table” until i become an adult. now? that is where i prefer to sit!

    thank you for sharing…i can hear the laughter….

  5. I always dreaded the kids’ table. I don’t know why. But that’s what I’m going to do tomorrow, and I bet I have at least one daughter who isn’t going to like it.

    I enjoyed reading about your memories. God bless and Merry Christmas.

  6. Lovely memories! Hope this year is full of love too!

  7. I love the kids table!


Leave a Reply

