Paving a New Road’s Weblog
Just another WordPress.com weblog

Sunday Scribbling – The Date

Sometimes you just have to do things you really want to do, alone. Your friends aren’t available, or don’t have the same interest as you do, so rather than stay home, for another night, you venture out, to a new place, an unknown place, all by yourself. To see, to hear, to be among the crowds that are experiencing life, some event that you’ve been wanting to go to and finally decide you are going to.

That is how this day started. I wanted to go to this event, the what is not important, just that I went, alone. I was out of my element, among a crowd that I did not “fit” into. They were hipper, crazier, all seeming to be having fun, and I felt like a wall flower, I was a wall flower.

I’d always felt like I did not belong wherever I was. I didn’t dress the way others did, I wasn’t their age, they were older, they were younger, they were cuter, more sophisticated, more comfortable in their own skin, or so I thought. But tonight was different, I told myself, just have some fun, it’s not going to hurt me.

I had to trust, and starting to trust myself would be a good start.

That night I was going to take myself out on a date…. I was going to get comfortable being out on my own.

And the strangest thing happened – I had fun!!! I met people who were alone, out with friends, couples. I found out that it didn’t matter who you showed up with, just that you showed up, with an open heart, and a desire to have fun.

10 Responses to “Sunday Scribbling – The Date”

  1. I am proud of you. I cry eating lunch alone…at a fast food place. I always have, even when I was in college I felt just like you described. In my mind though…everyone was staring and laughing me.

  2. That’s so awesome! I’m proud of you (even though I don’t know you)!

  3. It took me a while to go out and eat alone. Mow I am pretty comfortable with it.

  4. I always have dates on my own and I absolutely love it! Wouldn’t want it any other way! Go where I want, do what I want, eat what I want, any time I want! Great!

  5. I’m trying to embrace the concept of an Artist’s Date with myself, and I’m loving it. Good for you to go out and do things.

  6. A good plan! Life’s too short to live only in the company of a date. 🙂 Nice post!

  7. Good for you — this is a great skill to learn — being comfortable with yourself.

  8. I am happy to hear you had a good time!

  9. you know how to eat an elephant?

    A little bit at a time!

  10. was it the best day you ever had!!!..the last sentence i like it!!


Leave a Reply

