Paving a New Road’s Weblog
Just another WordPress.com weblog

Pretty Pictures

Have you ever met someone who had the perfect house, the perfect car, dressed nice, not to the 9s, but nice, every day? Things appeared just right!

I’ve known many people like this. I’ve even lived with people like this. I was becoming one of them. It’s scary to think that. Luckily I can say with hindsight, I’m not one of them. My house is not spotless, please don’t try to eat off the floor. I don’t think you will get sick, but why push either of our luck? My clothes don’t come from the fancy stores. I’ve never set foot in Needless Markups….. Ross and Marshalls do just fine, even Target at times. I’m more concerned about taking care of us, than what the neighbors will think. 

Their lives seem so sad to me, now. They looked so “pretty” to the naked eye…. upon further inspection the walls were falling down around them, they didn’t have good, healthy relationships with family, with friends. The people from their work that they considered their friends were probably the same way they are, just wanting to get ahead and appear to be everyones best friend. For me, I’ll go for substance over quantity any day. 

Making friends is not easy as an adult. It’s even harder when one has been tested in many ways and has trouble trusting their own selves. But…. it’s realizations like this, that give me a bit more strength…. more trust in myself…. more belief that there is more good people in this world, people who really want to do the right thing…..

My walls are coming down, slowly, and thats the best way.

I may not have the pretty picture, but I do have peace of mind… and peace in my heart. 

2 Responses to “Pretty Pictures”

  1. u r right , speaking the unalterable , bitter fact of life …. rather being perfect in life , be imperfect but u must stay within the walls of love , care and attachment which can face any song of life ……
    i miss one person on this globe inspite she is with me but not…
    tried to being PERFECT with her carried me long distance away.
    i agree u

  2. absolutely agree with you,
    my point is be honest to anyone in your life, later you will get more than you imagination.


Leave a Reply

