Paving a New Road’s Weblog
Just another WordPress.com weblog

Sunday Scribbling – Misc

What a concept… misc! It’s all of life, and nothing at the same time. It can be anything. So for today, we’ll just go with whats on my mind. 
The Tortoise and the Hare
I used to be the Hare. Always out and about, having fun, wanting to be with people, engaging (not engaged… two different things!). My friends would get annoyed with me, my teachers (I’m really sorry, now as a parent, I understand much more) told me to be quiet. I thought school was a social place, sure there was supposed to be learning going on, but I was there to hang out with my friends. 
But now, I’m much more the tortoise. I crawl into a shell and stay there. Being bothered by anyone, but those I invite in is a huge annoyance.
This is not how I want to live.
I know what changed things. I know why I don’t trust, even myself. Slowly, like the tortoise, I need to peel back the shell, to allow me to evolve into the, oh who knows, a hortoise, a tare? Really, just the me I want to be. 
They say acknowledging is the first step. I’ve done it. It was not as bad as I thought it would be. Taking care of me is important too!
Other Sunday Scribblings can be found here.
3 Responses to “Sunday Scribbling – Misc”

  1. I, too, was a racing hare and have turned into a reluctant turtle. Some days, I yearn for the race and sometimes I pour another cup of coffee and smile while I try to decide… Nice post!

  2. A hortoise or a tare sounds very balanced. Oh yes…taking care of yourself is very important. Us mom’s get so caught up in caring for all the needs of the family.

  3. It happens to all of us. We hares turn into turtles or vice versa. Don’t be disheartened. It will pass.

    Arty? Not me!!


Leave a Reply

