Paving a New Road’s Weblog
Just another WordPress.com weblog

Sunday Scribblings – Foul

As I become more aware of me, more aware of when the shell…. thick brick wall… I’ve put around me, is coming down, I’ve started to call bull shit on others more. I should have been doing it all along, but didn’t know that it was ok. 

As I thought about the word foul, I realized, like a game… being a who enjoys sports, it’s easy to do, foul is a much more comfortable word for to me to use. And I can use it with a child.

Having not been a good role model in the boundary department with my daughter, and wanting to be now, when something is not quite right, foul would be a good word to use. Some people will understand, others won’t and will think of it as an inside joke. I don’t mind having them with people I care about, they can be kind of fun. And in this case, a fun thing could help in making setting boundaries a lot easier.

Calling foul is just one step in learning how to set boundaries, but it’s an important step. Sometimes calling foul can be in ones own head, just to acknowledge something is not right, or to lead to a discussion. Just as long as it’s not confused with a ball, bat, and mitt, life is on a better life.

 Participate in Sunday Scribblings if you’d like.

4 Responses to “Sunday Scribblings – Foul”

  1. I often call “bullshit” on people , but “foul” would be a kinder, gentler way to put it. Good idea.

  2. A really interesting take on foul. Never thought of it as an alternative to bullshit before!

  3. Must admit, I prefer ‘bullshit’, but foul does the same job 🙂

  4. I like that idea, you can say foul in all circles. I also like your idea of speaking your mind, I do now but it took me a long time to learn to do so and it is freeing!


Leave a Reply

