Paving a New Road’s Weblog
Just another WordPress.com weblog

Full Disclosure when Dating?

Sorry for disappearing…. I think I’m back… I hope I’m back. Life got in the way, it was overwhelming for a while. With the exception of being sick and a bit of travel all the overwhemness is still there, I’m just learning to deal with it, better…. one eruption at a time.  

On to my question –  When you start dating someone new are you a believer in full disclosure? Do you tell little bits about yourself as you get to know the person better, or do you keep your past all to yourself?    

 The reason I ask this is, I met someone who dated the x a few years ago. In talking with her I learned that the x told her he didn’t know why I left, I had never told him! Those drugs he did really must have done a number on his brain, his memory is shot. He does not remember the drugs (must have been an amazing rehab he went through), or the fact that he thought punching and kicking me was a sport, that I had a problem with his not working (not much has changed, has it?), or that he refused to go to counseling to work on our problems.  

Garth Brooks is right about “Unanswered Prayers”. I used to pray that he (the x, not Garth….. hhmmm… ) could work things out for our marriage. If I meet someone now, I pray that if the relationship works out in whatever way it is supposed to. I no longer stress when the phone does not ring.  

The lady who dated the x for a while, said things just didn’t work out between them. I wasn’t going to ask specifics, either. For her sake, I’m very happy she moved on.

To answer my own question, I let things about my past come out as we get to know each other. Telling to much at one time, would send any man running, and not telling anything, would be a lie. I would be upset, and see it as a huge red flag if someone didn’t tell anything of their past, that was similar to what I’ve been through, especially if we were getting serious. 

I guess it’s about balance, just like the rest of life. 

One Response to “Full Disclosure when Dating?”

  1. […] unknown wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptOn to my question – When you start dating someone new are you a believer in full disclosure? Do you tell little bits about yourself as you get to know the person better, or do you keep your past all to yourself? … […]


Leave a Reply

